West Virginia Massage Therapist License Exam

MBLEx Practice Exam Questions Answers Study

To get licensed in West Virginia, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Morgantown, Charleston, Parkersburg or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.

Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in West Virginia.

Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the West Virginia Massage Therapy Licensure Board.

Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to complete at least 500 hours of supervised academic instruction from an accredited school.

The candidate must also pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).

For more information on qualifications, see West Virginia Massage Therapist Licensing Information.

Applying for the Massage Exam: Candidates can apply online to take the MBLEx. More information can be found on the MBLEx in a Candidate Handbook.

Test Content: The MBLEx exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer based exam.

The exam is divided into eight content areas:

-          Anatomy & Physiology
-          Kinesiology
-          Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
-          Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
-          Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
-          Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
-          Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
-          Guidelines for Professional Practice

How to Apply for the License: Candidates must provide the Board the following documents: (1) completed application; (2) transcript of completed course of study; (3) criminal background check ; and (4) verification of passage of the MBLEx. Candidates must send the documents to:

                    West Virginia Massage Therapy Licensure Board
                    179 Summers Street, Suite 711
                    Charleston, WV 25301

                    Phone: (304) 558-1060

Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.

Who Administers the Massage Tests: The MBLEx is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB ) and Pearson Vue.

License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew her license every two years and complete at least 24 hours of continuing education, of which 3 hours must be in professional ethics, in that time period.

Applicable Regulations: Massage therapists in West Virginia are governed by Rules and Regulations.

For more information on licensing and exam prep, go to Tests.com's MBLEx Test Guide and BCETMB Test Guide.

And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests:

MBLEx Practice Test

BCETMB Practice Test

For massage therapy exam preparation products, such as study guides, flashcards and courses, go to Tests.com’s MBLEx and BCETMB listings.