To get licensed in Oregon, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Portland, Eugene, Medford or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.
Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in Oregaon.
Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists .
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to complete a minimum of 500 hours of massage therapy training to include:
- 200 hours of Anatomy and Physiology including Kinesiology and Pathology
- 300 hours in Massage Theory and Practical Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, Communication, Ethics and Sanitation
The candidate must pass a host of exams:
1. The candidate must pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
2. The candidate must pass a state practical exam.
3. The candidate must pass a state jurisprudence exam. The jurisprudence exam is mailed to you when the Board receives your application for licensure.
For more information on qualifications, see Oregon Massage Therapist Candidate Handbook.
Test Content: The MBLEx exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer based exam.
The exam is divided into eight content areas:
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
State Practical Exam: The practical exam is 50 minutes long, with three examiners, with one acting as the client and another giving instructions. The candidate must follow the instructions to complete the exam. Once a task has been started, it cannot be repeated. The candidate may choose to skip a task and come back to it later in the exam period. The candidate will be asked to explain considerations, techniques and contraindications for a specified condition. A minimum score of 70% is required in each individual part of the exam to pass the Practical Exam.
State Jurisprudence Exam: A 25 question written jurisprudence exam will be included with the exam appointment notification or mailed directly. It is an open book test that can be completed at home. After completing the test, the candidate must deliver the completed test to the Board. Candidates need a 70% score to pass. If the candidate fails the exam, another exam will be mailed to the candidate and there is no extra charge to retake the exam.
How to Apply for the License: Candidates must provide the Board the following documents: (1) completed application; (2) sealed transcript of completed course of study; (3) CPR certification; (4) fingerprinting and criminal background check; and (5) verification of passage of the NCETM, NCETMB or the MBLEx. Candidates must send the documents to:
Oregon Board of Massage Therapy
748 Hawthorne Ave., NE
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: (503) 365-8657
Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.
Who Administers the Massage Tests: The MBLEx is administered by the the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB).
License Renewal Requirements – A massage therapist must renew her license every two years and complete at least 25 hours of continuing education in that time period.
Applicable Regulations: Massage therapists in Oregon are governed by Oregon Administrative Rules 334-010-0005 et seq.
And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests: