To get licensed in Montana, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Missoula, Billings, Great Falls or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.
Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in Montana.
Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the Montana Board of Massage Therapy.
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to complete a minimum of 500 hours of study from an accredited massage therapy school or program.
The candidate must also pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
For more information on qualifications, see Montana Massage Therapist.
Applying for the Massage Exam:
Test Content: The MBLEx exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer based exam.
The exam is divided into eight content areas:
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
How to Apply for the License: Candidates must provide the Board the following documents: (1) completed application; (2) transcript of completed course of study; (3) high school diploma; and (4) verification of passage of the MBLEx. The documents should be sent to:
Montana Board of Massage Therapy
PO Box 200513
301 South Park, 4th Floor
Helena, Montana 59620-0513
(406) 841-2369 or 2037
Official school transcripts and MBLEx results must be forwarded directly to the Board from the respective organizations.
Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.
Who Administers the Massage Test: The MBLEx is administered by the the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) and Pearson Vue.
License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew their license every 2 years and complete at least 12 hours of continuing education every 2 years.
Applicable Regulations: Massage therapists in Montana are regulated by Administrative Rules of Montana, Chapter 24.155 Board of Massage Therapy.
And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests: