Delaware Massage Therapist License Exam

MBLEx Practice Exam Questions Answers Study

To get licensed in Delaware, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Wilmington, Dover, Millsboro or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.

Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in Delaware.

Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the Delaware Board of Massage and Bodywork.

Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to complete a minimum of 500 hours of supervised in-class study at a massage therapist school or in an approved program of massage or bodywork therapy. The curriculum is required to have no less than the following course hours:

                    -  100 hours of anatomy and physiology;

                    -  300 hours of technique and theory of massage or bodywork therapy;

                    -  100 hours of elective courses in the field of massage therapy.

The candidate must also pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).

Applying for the Massage Exam: Candidates can apply online to take the MBLEx. More information can be found on the MBLEx in a Candidate Handbook.

Test Content: The MBLEx exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer-based exam.

The exam is divided into eight content areas:

      -         Anatomy & Physiology
     -          Kinesiology
     -          Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
     -          Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
     -          Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
     -          Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
     -          Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
     -          Guidelines for Professional Practice

How to Apply for the License: Candidates must provide the Board with the following documents: (1) completed application; (2) transcript of completed course of study; (3) CPR certification; and (4) verification of passage of the MBLEx. The documents should be sent directly to:

                Delaware Board of Massage and Bodywork
                861 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite 203
                Dover, DE 19904-2467

                Phone - (302) 744-4500
                Fax – (302) 739-2711

School transcripts and MBLEx results must be sent directly from the respective organizations.

Fees:  There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.

Who administers the test: Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) and Pearson Vue.

License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew their license every 2 years and complete at least 24 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

Applicable Regulations: Massage therapists in Delaware are regulated by Title 24, section 5300 of the Administrative Code.

For more information on licensing and exam prep, go to's MBLEx Test Guide and BCETMB Test Guide.

And take’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests:

MBLEx Practice Test

BCETMB Practice Test

For massage therapy exam preparation products, such as study guides, flashcards and courses, go to’s MBLEx and BCETMB listings.